SWANA Beaver Chapter
Oregon & Idaho

Scholarships & Awards

Donate to the Ben Masengil Memorial Scholarship

Ben Masengil Memorial Scholarship

The Beaver Chapter of the Solid Waste Association of North America (SWANA) is pleased to offer the Ben Masengil Scholarship Award Program each year as a benefit to chapter members and to promote education and the advancement of the solid waste industry. This scholarship is dedicated in thanks to Ben Masengil, one of the founding members of the Oregon Chapter. The Beaver Chapter is proud to offer this scholarship program as a way to honor Ben’s long-standing history of contributions and participation within the organization.


Candidates applying for the scholarship must be a son, daughter, grandson, or granddaughter of, or sponsored by, a Beaver Chapter member in good standing as of May 1st of the year the application is submitted. Candidates must also reside within the geographic region covered by the Beaver Chapter.

Grant Categories

Two $1,000* scholarships will be awarded each year by the Oregon Beaver Chapter to the highest scoring applicant in each of the following categories:

  1. Graduating high school senior or graduate equivalent (certified) that have been accepted by a junior college (2-year), four-year college, trade school, or university in any program.
  2. Returning college student enrolled in any junior college, trade school, four-year college, or university in any undergraduate program.

* This amount has been reduced to $1,000 in 2021 due to COVID-related budget restrictions.


May 2nd is the 2022 deadline for submission of the completed application and all supporting materials including transcripts.

Please submit all applications (scanned/PDF) to scholarships@swanabeaverchapter.org


The Ben Masengil Scholarship is made possible by generous donations and fundraising activities organized by the Beaver Chapter of SWANA. If you would like to make a donation to this scholarship fund, please contact the current chapter treasurer at treasurer@swanaoregon.org or donate online.

2022 Ben Masengil Recipients

Karlyn Six

Karlyn graduated from St. Stephen’s Academy and is planning to attend Northwest Nazarene University in Nampa, Idaho, to study computer science.

Caleb Mitchell

Caleb is graduating from South Salem High School and plans on studying economics in college. He became interested in business after joining DECA freshman year in high school and also plans on assisting for the baseball team in college.

Lily Rice

Lily Rice is a junior at Oregon State University and will be graduating with a Bachelors of
Science in Marine Biology next spring. Lily’s greatest passion is to explore and advocate for
marine life and she has done so through research and internship opportunities. One of Lily’s
favorite ways to protect the ocean environment is to participate in beach cleanups and educate
others about the effects of microplastic pollution.

Cyrus Mitchell

Cyrus is a junior at the University of Oregon where he is majoring in Economics with minors in Math and Business Administration. After attaining his bachelor’s degree, he plans to pursue a master’s degree in applied economics.

Grant H. Flint Scholarship Program

Participation in the Grant H. Flint International Scholarship Program begins at the Chapter level. Completed applications must be received by respective chapters no later than May 1st of the current calendar year. The Chapter Scholarship Committees are responsible for reviewing and selecting local winners, and forwarding one representative for each scholarship category to the International Scholarship Committee for review. The total amount given within Category I and Category II will be $20,000. The amount for each individual award will be determined by the International Scholarship Committee.

Schedule for Selection

May 2 — Deadline for submission of application materials to Chapter Scholarship Committee

June 3 — Deadline for submission of Chapter candidates for review by International Scholarship Committee

July 15 — International Scholarship Committee meets to select winners

August 1–15 — Announcement of International Scholarship winners

Award Categories

Category I: Graduating high school seniors or graduate equivalent certified candidates who have been accepted for enrollment in a junior college, a four-year college, or a university (any program). To be eligible, candidates must be the children or grandchildren of a SWANA Member (sponsor) in good standing as of May 1st of the current calendar year.

Category II:  Currently enrolled full-time college or university students who are entering their junior or senior undergraduate year and pursuing a degree in environmental science, engineering, or other suitable major related to the field of solid waste management. To be eligible, candidates must be the children or grandchildren of a SWANA Member (sponsor) in good standing as of May 1st of the current calendar year or SWANA Student Members in good standing.

The applications for each can also be found on the SWANA National website. Please direct all Chapter applications and your questions to sbixby@swana.org or call Sara Bixby at 240-494-2236.

Robert P. Stearns / SCS Engineers Scholarship

Criteria for Selection

Full-time students who are entering or are in graduate school pursuing a degree in environmental science, engineering or other suitable major related to the field of solid waste management. Eligible candidates must be sons, daughters, grandsons or granddaughters of a SWANA Member (sponsor) in good standing as of May 1st or SWANA Student Members in good standing.

Scholarship amount

1 award of $5,000

Harvey W. Gershman Scholarship

Criteria for Selection

Students from Northeastern University are particularly encouraged to apply, but all Category II scholarship applicants may also be considered for this prestigious award — students do not need to fill out a separate form.

Scholarship amount

1 award of $5,000